EPPO Global Database

EPPO Reporting Service no. 09 - 2020 Num. article: 2020/207

National and regional regulations for non-native plants in Italy

International, national, and local regulations are one of the most important aspects to adopt and implement to prevent and control invasive alien species.  In Italy, the most stringent legislation on non-native plants is the Regulation (EU) 1143/2014 which entered into force on the 1st January 2015.  At the core of the Regulation is a list of invasive alien species of Union concern, which currently includes 36 invasive alien plants. For these species prohibitions and control strategies are applied at the national level. In addition, 111 taxa (95 plant species and 16 collective taxa) are regulated under Italian legislation at the regional level for five regions (Friuli Venezia Giulia, Lombardia, Piemonte, Toscana, Valle d'Aosta). Most of the regionally regulated species are woody species (23 trees, 9 shrubs and 6 woody vines), followed by 29 herbs and 11 aquatic plants. According to the type of list on which the species has been included (e.g. Black List, Warning List) and the regions, legal obligations may vary. These obligations may include commitments to monitor plant populations, compulsory control, containment and eradication measures. The regional lists include species which have significant negative impacts but are not currently species of Union concern (e.g. Reynoutria spp., and Carpobrotus spp.) or species which are not applicable to Regulation (EU) 1143/2014 due to predominantly having negative impacts on agriculture (e.g. Ambrosia artemisiifolia and A. trifida).


Brundu G, Armeli Minicante S, Barni E, Bolpagni R, Caddeo A, Celesti-Grapow L, Cogoni A, Galasso G, Iiriti G, Lazzaro L, Loi MC, Lozano V, Marignani M, Montagnani C, Siniscalco C (2020) Managing plant invasions using legislation tools: an analysis of the national and regional regulations for non-native plants in Italy. Annali Di Botanica, 10, 1-12.