EPPO Global Database

EPPO Reporting Service no. 11 - 1992 Num. article: 1992/02

New Phytosanitary Regulations of 12 Member Governments

On 1993-01-01, the 12 Member States of the European Community (BE, DE, DK, ES, FR, GB, GR, IE, IT, LU, NL, PT) establish a single market in commodities, including plants and plant products. This implies the removal of all intra-Community frontier controls and the introduction of a new system of plant passports, delivered at the place of origin, for plants and plant products moving within the Community. The new regulations providing for this are made up of a series of amendments to Directive 77/93/EEC. These regulations essentially concern movements between Member States, but have indirect effects on other countries. EPPO and the Commission of the EC organized on 1992-09-22 a colloquium on "The phytosanitary impact of the single market" of which the proceedings will shortly be published as an EPPO Technical Document. The EPPO summary of the phytosanitary regulations of the EC Member States will very soon be revised to take account of the new regulations.


EPPO Secretariat, Paris (1992-11)